BQ Emerging Entrepreneur shortlist announced

The shortlist for BQ’s Emerging Entrepreneur awards has been announced, celebrating 35 of the UK’s up-and-coming entrepreneurial stars.

The awards will be split into categories for Scotland, Wales, and England’s North East, North West, Yorkshire, Midlands and London and the South regions, and will celebrate businesses in sectors such as food and drink, healthcare, and technology.

One finalist will be selected from each area’s category at the BQ Entrepreneur Festival powered by Atom bank, taking place at Newcastle’s Boiler Shop on 21st November, with an overall winner also announced on the evening.

This year one entrepreneur will be recognised as a ‘rising star’, and attendees will be able to vote for the people’s choice award during the event.

Dave Townsley, group account director at BQ, said: “This year we’re blown away by the calibre of entrepreneurs who are nominated.

“It’s clear that the spirit of entrepreneurship is alive and well, and we’re delighted to be able to highlight the stories of our emerging entrepreneurs this way. It promises to be an exciting night.”

International aircraft and aviation asset management company, Naljets, will be the drinks sponsor for the event. Craig McLeod, MD, said: “At Naljets, PTT Aviation and Airfotos, we prize the entrepreneurial spirit very highly.

“We are pleased to support the emerging talent in the region and are delighted to sponsor this year’s awards”.

The Yorkshire category is sponsored by alternative provider of wholesale fibre network infrastructure, CityFibre.

The entrepreneurs shortlisted for the awards are:

London & the South

Alborz Bozorgi of Twipes

Leila Francis Coleman of AquaPhysical

Benji Lanyado of Picfair

Peter Ramsey of Movem

Nathan Lowry of Easy Coffee


Simon Crowther of Flood Protection Solutions Ltd

Pail Dillon of Ultimate Physio

John Loveday of Spearhead Compliance Training

Melissa Snover of Katjes Magic Candy Factory

Revathi Timms of Avatar 3D

North East & Cumbria

Vincent Efferoth of Tea Venture Limited

Charlie Gibbs of Steampunk Ltd

Andy Haddon of Earth Doctors Ltd

Rebecca Riley of Kalma Baby Ltd

Holly Thompson of Future Skills Vision Ltd

North West

Simon Austerberry of Actiphons Ltd

Kate badger of Academy of Fun

Matt Walsh of Beatstream Media

Luke Massie of Vibe Tickets

Luke Swann of The Prologue


Liita Cairney of Kalitasha Ltd

Olivia Feng of hellouni

James McIlroy of Enterobiotix

Steven Smith of The Lead Generation Company

Rossie Stone of Dekko Comics Ltd


Marc Castro of Spanacom Ltd

Sian Gunney of HJ Weir

Natasha Louca-Jones of Invncbl Ltd

Karlis Ozolins of Venture Works (Venture Growth Ltd)

Sue Poole of C4EE


Shaun Daniel of Alpaca Comfort Ltd

Joe Formisano of Delivita Ltd

Urfan Ghulfam of Queens Qulfi Ltd

Banjamin Lawton of Custom Controllers UK Ltd

Daniel Pawson of Sea Chips

Tickets are still available for the BQ National Entrepreneur Festival, powered by Atom bank. Get yours here.